Worcester, Mass

The Forbush Bird Club was established in 1931, being named after Edward Howe Forbush (1858-1929), author of Birds of Massachusetts and Other New England States (1925), and state ornithologist from 1908-1920. The aim of the Forbush Bird Club is to promote the study of birds with relation to their distribution, ecology, food requirements and population; and to promote a desire for the conservation of all our natural resources. The club publishes an annual journal of Worcester County Ornithology, The Chickadee, which chronicles the affairs of the club, reporting items of interest concerning Worcester County birds. Patterns of occurance of birds throughout the year are reported, with special attention to early or late records, and unusual numbers or behavior. The current Editorial Committee consists of Charles E. Caron (editor-in-chief), Kevin Bourinot, Rodney S. Jenkins, Paul Meleski, Thomas Pirro, and Joan Zumpfe. Editors Emeritus are Bradford G. Blodget and John F. Williams.


PresidentDick KnowltonGardner 978-632-9639
1st Vice PresidentDonna SchillingActon978-263-9434
2nd Vice PresidentPaul MeleskiWorcester508-757-2950
SecretaryRick QuimbyWorcester508-853-5021
TreasurerBarton KampWorcester508-753-7463
Members at Large Kevin Bourinot
Dave Grant
Jim Hogan

Constitution of Forbush Bird Club

Duties of Forbush Officers



1931-1935W. Elmer Ekblaw*
1935-1938Raymond J. Gregory*
1938-1939Harry C. Parker*
1939-1948Lloyd S. Jenkins*
1948-1952David K. Wetherbee*
1952-1954Olive P. Wetherbee*
1954-1963Lloyd S. Jenkins*
1963-1969Davis H. Crompton*
1969-1971Bradford G. Blodget
1971-1973George E. Maloney
1973-1975Nancy M. Ober*
1975-1977Edward Plotkin
1977-1978Rodney S. Jenkins
1978-1979Robert Aiello
1979-1981Norman E. Muller
1981-1983Mark M. Blazis
1983-1985John F. Williams
1985-1987Francis X. McMenemy*
1987-1997Ralph Richards
1997-1998Robert Ricci
1999-2002Richard Hildreth
2002-2007Joan Zumpfe
2007-2009John C. Root
2009-2013Alan Marble